“There was nothing I could do.”
Hanwha coach Choi Won-ho (50) expressed regret over the situation that occurred in the bottom of the 9th inning the previous day. he felt frustrated. As a result, it was a mistake. But he couldn’t help it.
Coach Won-ho Choi said ahead of the last game of the 2023 KBO League regular season LG and the weekend 3-game series held at Jamsil Stadium on the 21st, “I saw that the batter threw a bat in the bottom of the 9th inning yesterday. He was not subject to video review, so he could only appeal. He said it was irreversible.”
“There was nothing I could do. The only thing a manager can do is withdraw the players, but honestly, I even thought about that momentarily. A lot of spectators came, but that’s not going to happen. It appealed enough. Isn’t it a situation that will take a long time? He said, ‘Okay,’ and there was nothing but coming in,” he added.
It happened in the bottom of the ninth the previous day. Shin Min-jae’s right-handed hit made it to first base, and pinch hitter Jung Joo-hyun stepped in. He took a bunt motion for the first ball, but when the ball missed, he got the bat. became a ball
Jung Joo-hyun continued to bunt motion, and Hanwha Battery completely removed the second ball. It’s a pitch out. At this time, Jung Joo-hyun switched to a strong attack and tried to hit. He threw the bat as the ball went far.
This bat struck Choi Jae-hoon in the stomach. Choi Jae-hun collapsed and complained of his pain. After the start, Shin Min-jae went to second base. He was recorded as having stolen bases.
The referees reached an agreement in the 4th trial on whether to interfere with the strike or interfere with the defense. Finally, it was concluded that the strike was obstruction. Director Choi Won-ho immediately came out and protested, but the decision was not overturned. 2nd base unscathed.안전놀이터
Next, Kim Min-seong hit a double hit, and Park Hae-min stepped back with a floating ball to center fielder. I blew a decisive chance. The game continued at 1-1, and eventually ended in a tie in the 12th inning.
After the game, the KBO admitted a mistake. “The decision was judged to be Hanwha Choi Jae-hoon’s hitting interference through a 4-sim agreement, but as a result of additional confirmation by the KBO referee committee, it should have been judged as defensive interference, not hitting interference,” he explained.
He added, “The KBO referee committee plans to take follow-up measures such as disciplinary action.” If LG had scored the end of the 9th inning, Hanwha would have suffered a big loss.
In fact, in Official Baseball Rule 6.03, the batter’s foul play is defined as ‘if the batter hits the catcher (including the mitt) by throwing the bat into the fair or foul area on the third strike or in the presence of runners’. It was a huge mistake that could have dictated the game.
Director Choi Won-ho said, “I am very sorry about the series of processes. There was nothing I could do. I had no choice but to come in,” he said.